The Center sets up a working group to promote animation, visual effects, games and comics

The Ministry of Information and Audiovisual has set up a mission to promote Animation, Visual Effects, Games and Comics (AVGC).

Led by the I&B Secretary, the task force will submit its first action plan within 90 days. It is made up of representatives from industry, academia and state governments.

Earlier, Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman in her budget speech announced the establishment of a Task Force on Promoting AVGC.

The organization will define a national AVGC policy; recommend a national curriculum framework for graduation, post-graduation and doctoral courses in AVGC-related sectors; and facilitate skills development initiatives in collaboration with academic institutions, vocational training centers and industry.

This will increase job opportunities; assist in promotion and market development activities to expand the global reach of Indian industry; increase exports and recommend incentives to attract foreign direct investment in the sector.

The I&B ministry said the AVGC sector in the country has the potential to become the torchbearer of ‘Create in India’ and ‘Brand India’.

“India has the potential to capture 5% (about $40 billion) of the global market share by 2025, growing at about 25-30% annually and creating more than 1,60,000 new jobs per year,” he said.

The working group includes secretaries from the Ministry of Skills Development and Entrepreneurship, the Department of Higher Education, the Ministry of Education, the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology and the Department promotion of industry and internal trade.

Industry representatives are Biren Ghosh from Technicolor India, Ashish Kulkarni from Punaryug Artvision, Jesh Krishna Murthy from Anibrain, Keitan Yadav from Redchillies VFX, Chaitanya Chinchlikar from Whistling Woods International, Kishore Kichili from Zynga India and Neeraj Roy from Hungama Digital mediaentertainment.

It also includes representatives of the state governments of Karnataka, Maharashtra and Telangana, heads of educational bodies such as the Indian Council of Technical Education, the National Council of Educational Research and Training and industry bodies such as the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry, Confederation of Indian Industry and Media and Entertainment Skills Council.

Comments are closed.